Monday, May 27, 2024

Conrad Sangma Sworn In as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya

March 7, 2023:

The National People’s Party chief Conrad Sangma took swore-in as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya for the second consecutive term in Shillong on Tuesday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP chief J P Nadda and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma were present at the oath-taking ceremony.

Meanwhile, Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar took oath as the Deputy Chief Ministers of the state.

Moreover, Abu Taher Mondal, Kyrmen Shylla, Marcuise N Marak and Rakkan A Sangma, Alexander Laloo Hek, Dr Ampareen Lyngdoh, Paul Lyngdoh, Shakliar Warjri and Comingone Ymbon took oath as ministers in the NPP-led Meghalaya government.

Earlier today, PM Modi arrived in Guwahati to take part in the swearing ceremony.

Later, he will leave for Nagaland to take part in the oath taking ceremony of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio.

PM Modi is also scheduled to visit Tripura on March 8, to take part in the swearing ceremony of Manik Saha as chief minister.

In the recently concluded assembly elections in the Northeast, the BJP retained power on its own in Tripura, with the help from ally NDPP in Nagaland and is set to be part of the government in Meghalaya after the Conrad Sangma-led National People’s Party (NPP) failed to hit the majority mark despite emerging as the single-largest party in the state.

Bodoland Radab Headquarter in Kokrajhar town of BTR, Assam is the Number 1 Bodo News Portal of Bodoland (Officially BTR).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles